XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Jag question

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2013, 05:32 PM
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Jag question

Okay, I'm new to Jags, got an XJS builder last week, it runs good, although a idles a little fast (2000rpm), I'm a little worried, I want to just cruise a little with it, no long trips, etc., after viewing several of the posts on this forum I'm worried the car will break down! Someone says the best tool with a Jag is a cell phone, so many problems on this forum, I'm worried to take this XJS to the grocery store, did I make an exoteric mistake? I've wanted one for years and now that I have one I'm almost afraid to take it to out on the road. Are they really this unreliable? This one has 75K miles on it, the other owner must have driven it that many miles without to many complaints!

How worried should I be if I went on a 500 mile trip? Is the car, in reasonable condition going to dump me on the side of the road on I-15?? Why do they have such an unreliable reputation? Is it because of the 'Prince of Darkness' or some other issue? How can I have a mechanic check me out and give me a reasonable bill of health???

I feel intimidated to take the car out of the driveway now, everyone tells me Jags will **** the bed after a few miles! I want it to run reasonably, don't expect factory 100%, just cruiasability.

Any comments?
Dick C. (1989 XJS)

Old 08-22-2013, 05:59 PM
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

I think the xjs has an undeserved bad Rep. If the car is in decent condition then it should make a perfect cruiser. Just make sure that the maintenance is up to snuff and the failure prone items are addressed, cooling system, distributor, fuel lines to name a few.

The high idle needs to be addressed, check for vacuum leaks first.

Last edited by Big_Walleye; 08-22-2013 at 08:45 PM.
The following users liked this post:
dickc (08-24-2013)
Old 08-22-2013, 07:14 PM
Vee
Veteran Member
Received 1,592 Likes on 1,237 Posts