XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Looking at two XJS v-12s...new to Jags

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2016 | 11:41 PM
|
Default Looking at two XJS v-12s...new to Jags

Hello,
I'm completely new to Jaguars but have always wanted one for a long time. I now have two XJS 12s in my area Im interested in buying one. Im hoping i can get some good advice on what to look for, problems, or what to stay away from. I'm mechanical and have rebuilt a few American v8s and recently rebuilt my 04 Vette that was bought being in a accident.
Anyways ones a 85 XJS 12. Seller says: "Selling a 1985 jaguar xls V-12. In good condition. Runs and drives could use a tune up. A bunch off new parts. Black with gray leather on inside. New tires."
Next one is a 84 XJS 12 HE The ad says; "ONLY 70,000 Original Miles

I have replaced or worked on the following..New Tires, Rotors, Pads, Restored and Sealed Fuel Tank, Battery, Fuel Filter, Fuel Pump, Air Filters, Shocks, Plugs, Wires, Cap, Rotor, Distributor, All New Injectors, Fuel Pressure Regulators and More.

Southern Car, Rust Free, Minor Roof Damage

Runs great at times, sometimes I have issues starting the car

Original Jaguar Radio, A/C, Power Windows and Power Mirrors All Work Great

I like the Black 85 better but I'm hoping to get some feedback on these cars from guys who know these cars. I'm gonna try to attach pics of both cars also. Thanks in advance for any info guys.....

84 XJS

84 XJS

84 XJS

85 XJS

85 XJS

85 XJS

PS The white 84 has 70,000 miles and the black 85 has 68,500.

Old 06-23-2016 | 12:04 AM
Veteran Member

In one of the sticky threads at the top of this section is a buyers guide that might be a good place to start and answer some of your questions....and probably raise a few more