XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

New to Forum.. questions about fuel injectors

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2012, 04:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Forum.. questions about fuel injectors

First off I have been lurking here for a while and found tons of great folks with good advise, I am a machinist by trade (for what that is worth) and I have an '89 XJS (VIN xxxxxxxxxxKC1527xx) that has been sitting for a few years . I know they like to be driven on a regular basis to stay healthy. But now I have the time to get my kitty into shape.
Ran like a top before being put into storage, now the tank has just a tad bit of petrol in it should I drain as much as possible and refill ? Main question being will there be the possibility of fowling the injectors with debris ? Or should I just fill up enough to get to petrol station or somehow purge the system before the injector rails first? I know letting her sit was bad and don't want make a bad situation worse. Any other tips would appreciated. I plan to change the fuel filter(s) ? as well.

Well that sums it up, if I have missed somthing vital please feel free to correct or ask. Thank you for input this seems to be great place.

Last edited by steveinfrance; 08-26-2012 at 10:01 AM. Reason: Full VIN removed for OP's safety
Old 08-26-2012, 05:05 AM
Veteran Member
Received 194 Likes on 161 Posts

Hi DWM69 and welcome to the site. First, Ild like to suggest you introduce yourself in the new member section here: New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum that way the moderators will see you. They usually open your account up so you can post pics and stuff.

Now back to your questions. I'd suggest draining the tank. The gas will have spoiled by now and you don't want that crud gumming up your injector system. I would change the filter now, and again after you've run it for a bit.