XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

No Power

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2011, 01:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Power

I posted this under the "1994 V12 ABS" thread and got no response (I understand the problem is unrelated to the ABS) so, here it is again:

I went for a drive on Sunday and immediately noticed that I had a huge decrease in power and the exhaust smelled wierd. There appears to be agreement that I have lost a Marelli coil or burned thru the distributor rotor.

A few questions: how difficult is it to repair the suspected problems (I am a novice but I love working on the car and feel like I can learn to do about anything with a little patience)? How much money am I looking at in regards to parts (and possibly service)? Can anyone reference me to the applicable page numbers in the service manual (I have tried looking but have only had the manual for two days now)? Are any special tools required? As always, many thanks.

Old 05-11-2011, 08:15 PM

I removed the distrib. cap and rotor and everyhing looks fine. The metal "ends" of the rotor did look as if they had been exposed to slight heat (think shiny copper), but I assume that's normal. The distrib cap gasket was broken and I intend to use the "window sealant" treatment described by Kirby Palm on the rotar, so it was worth the trouble checking these issues anyway (and a fun experience I might add).

So, based on everything I have read, I assume the problem is a bad coil. The question is: which one and how do I check? I still cannot find anything on this in the manual.

Additionally, there was what I would call an inordinate amount of "oil buildup" on the left side of the engine where the manifold connects. It seemed kind of fresh and there was none on the right side. This could have been there when I bought the car (it has that plastic cover over the distrib. so I could not have seen it too easily). Could this be related to my problem?