XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

No start/Cold start/Multiple issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2022, 01:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No start/Cold start/Multiple issues

Hopefully I'm posting in the right place. I have no experience with forums so please bare with me. I have nowhere and no one to go to for info on this car and I'm hoping someone will be able to help out with some of this.

The majority of my experience is with American domestics, but I have dabbled in some Asian and European. However, this '84 XJS (H.E. (not sure what that designation is or means)) is a bit overwhelming to me, basically because the service information I have has been less than helpful with the operation of the systems and component testing.

The history of the vehicle as I know it:

The owner purchased the car 7 years ago from the original owner or at least they owned it for the majority of its life. It was well maintained, stored inside and never seen snow. After he purchased it, he drove it to storage and it stayed inside until the following year. He took it for a test drive the following year and parked it for another year. The storage unit closed up and he had to move it. When he went to move it it wouldn't start(5 years ago). Over the last 5 years it has been to several shops, "mechanics" and at one point was stored outside at his friends lot for a year or two. Nobody has been able to get it running. (Just a little side note: One shop it was at is probably the best shop around us. They have a great reputation and work on a lot of foreign cars so it baffles me they couldn't handle this). I picked the car up a few weeks ago from someone I don't even think I could consider a "back yard mechanic". He charged the owner $1000 and all he did was put a battery in it over the course of the 1 or 2 years he had it and said it will run on starting fluid.

My diag so far: