XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Pinging & Odd Rev Fluttering

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2024, 03:26 AM
Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Pinging & Odd Rev Fluttering

Hello all,

I've been driving my '91 XJ-S as my main car for a few months now, and I'm having to contend with pinging at operating temp and a very strange revving at low RPM.

Pinging:
As noted in a previous thread, my car is staying within operating temps; so, it's not like the engine getting crazy hot is causing early detonation. The pinging usually starts after fifteen to twenty minutes, and it can get kind of annoying in stop-start traffic. It's only noticeable at idle. I live in Long Island NY, and everything has ethanol in it around here. I always go with the highest octane generally available, 92-93 by US measurements. However, I'm considering taking a fifteen minute drive next fillup to a station that sells high octane fuels and putting some high 90's or 100 octane in along with standard premium. I'm wondering if I'm crazy for thinking that standard pump gas is too weak or if other XJ-S/XJ12 owners have had similar problems. This engine does not have a knock sensor, but I could try retarding the timing to alleviate the problem. Looking for opinions and suggestions.

Revving:
At times a very light application of the throttle will cause the engine to shoot up from ~1000rpm to 1500, then down to 700, back up to 1500, and so on. It's easily demonstrated when I open the bonnet and slightly move the TPS. This is getting to be fairly annoying when I'm driving along and the car suddenly revs then bogs down when I try to minutely adjust my speed. It doesn't happen a lot, but enough to be an issue. Strangely, it can also happen when, after a drive, I shift from drive into park. The revs increase to that sour spot where the flutter begins. It seems like when trying maintain ~1000rpm, the engine sometimes responds in this strange way. Any ideas on what could be the cause?