XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Potential Blown Head Gasket 😫 Any help is appreciated

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2020, 11:21 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Potential Blown Head Gasket 😫 Any help is appreciated

So after having my 1992 facelift 5.3 V12 XJS in storage for two years due to not really being able to drive it because of work commitments, (I live in Manhattan so parking is scare) I decided to finally bring the car out of storage and take her to a shop I've been using for a few years.

Surprisingly the battery tender worked great and the car turned right on. Right before I put the car in storage though a few years ago the engine started acting funny. For one it after running great all summer, the car began to over heat often and I had to constantly refill the anti freeze so the temperature needle could stay at the midway point. After a few days the anti freeze would disappear and I wouldn't see any major leaks so I just kept an extra bottle of anti freeze in the car.

Fast forward to last week. When we turned the car on a bunch of thick white smoke was coming out of the left bank exhaust. Nothing coming from the right side.

Mechanic told me sounds like a blown head gasket and he's 100% sure of it. Quotes me $3000 for labor and $1500 for parts.

I am not going to use this mechanic and may get a guy who wants to come over by my cousin's house and do the job in his garage. Not so sure how smart that is but he quoted me $1k for labor if I buy the parts myself.

My questions are below and if anyone can help that would be amazing. I have a ton of questions and my apologies if it's too much but really don't want to give up on this car as I'd like to keep it for a very long time and keep it as close to stock as possible.

How can the mechanic be so sure it's a blown head gasket without removing the engine and head? He only has Jags in his shops from E types to some other great cars but I can see he hates working on this specific model.