XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Removing the GM400 gearbox from the XJS

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2019, 08:19 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,247 Likes on 5,431 Posts
Default Removing the GM400 gearbox from the XJS

Guys, the great day dawned when, various repairs having been completed on Madame's vehicles, I could start the work of removing my gearbox in order to replace it with a new one. This is because a vibration I have been chasing for about 2 years seems to stem from the gearbox. Obviously we will find out if it was so caused once the new one is installed!
To say this was a daunting task is an understatement, but having gathered together all the necessary tools over the last few months, I was at last ready to start. My courage was much bolstered by advice from Grant on the France/Australia scrambler hotline. Here is a list of what is done so far, and I am in a position when I restart on Monday, to actually undo the bellhousing bolts and remove the box. Below the list are a few snaps of the work. I have a lift, but providing you can safely raise the car 3 feet off the ground, there is no reason the work cannot be done without one. What is essential is to have a very good friend called Michel (see photos) to help.
  1. Remove battery done
  2. Partially syphon coolant done
  3. Drain gearbox done
  4. Undo shock absorbers from hubs done
  5. Undo top hoses from radiator done
  6. Undo crank beather hoses (not necessary with OEM breather) done
  7. Undo heater feed hose from tap end done
  8. Remove cold start solenoid to give access to B bank lifting eye (not necessary with OEM AAV) done
  9. Undo wing bracers done
  10. Install engine beam chains on rear eyes and just take weight
  11. Undo steering rack/column joint done
  12. Loosen six shots done
  13. Undo downpipe joins and undo over-axle pipe joins and remove exhaust central section done
  14. Remove selector cable from box done