XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Serious Leak and White Engine Smoke

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2023, 11:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Serious Leak and White Engine Smoke

Hi there - I am new to this community but have a feeling I’m going to be spending a lot of time here! Just received a 1990 XJS V12 (bought for my father, who has always dreamed of this car but would
never have bought it for himself) and promptly upon delivery and letting the vehicle run for 10-20 minutes, a greenish liquid started flowing out from under the front of the car at a rapid cadence, and the engine started billowing white smoke. It eventually stopped but now the vehicle won’t turn on despite a charged battery. This is my first classic car, so I am new to this and apologize if this is an obvious fix.

Any thoughts or feedback would be much appreciated as to what I should do next!

Attached Thumbnails Serious Leak and White Engine Smoke-img_4974.jpeg  
Old 10-29-2023, 12:37 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,920 Likes on 7,174 Posts

I suspect a major radiator leak or one of the cooling hoses at the front of the engine burst open.

Was the billowing smoke (steam, most likely) coming from the exhaust pipes or from the engine bay?

It is very common that these cars need major attention to the cooling system.

What exactly happens when you turn the key to "start"? Do you hear anything happening? A click? A grunt?

Did you trying starting the engine after letting it fully cool down?

Cheers
DD

The following users liked this post:
JJS- Florida (10-30-2023)
Old 10-29-2023, 02:24 PM

Thanks so much, Doug! I had a mobile mechanic come by and they confirmed the source of the issue was indeed a broken radiator. It sounds like the radiator will need to be replaced. The engine was hot a couple hours after turning off, so your cooling system comment makes sense. I was quoted approx. $2k for parts and labor - does this sound accurate?