XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Some help with the Coolant system theory please

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2013, 01:55 AM
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Some help with the Coolant system theory please

I got my 92 XJS V12 in August so I'm still learning the systems and components.

Can someone give me the theory behind having both an expansion tank and also an atmospheric recovery bottle on this system.

Are not these two components, and their purpose, handled by one single bottle in most other cars?

Old 11-04-2013, 05:37 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,367 Likes on 5,490 Posts

Originally Posted by The Wizard of BC
Can someone give me the theory behind having both an expansion tank and also an atmospheric recovery bottle on this system.
Welcome to the elite! As I understand it, the rather complex cooling plumbing in the XJS all stems from the fact that the header tank is NOT at the highest point in the system. The highest point being the heater valve on the firewall centre. As a result, there has to be an air extraction system (part of which, if you refer to the recent thread entitled "water pump or hose" I have just attempted to explain to another lister, link here: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...rtible-105728/ )

As a result of the header tank on the inner wing being lower than the water jacket on the engine, there has to be a fill point reasonably high up. This is the cross pipe at the front of the engine with the rad cap on top of the upright spout. As a second result, without an air purge system (see link referred to above), the rad would always have air in the top as there would be no easy path for any trapped air to get out of the system as the header tank is lower than the rad top!