Speedo Working Intermittently

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2018, 10:30 AM
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Speedo Working Intermittently

What I have done:

1. Pulled Binnacle and lightly cleaned tangs per OrangeBlossum's procedure,
2. Installed new, OEM Speedo Transducer on differential,
3. Verified Trip Computer has reading information - it appears to work when the Speedo works intermittently,
4. Located the Speedo Interface in the trunk - have done Nothing with it thus far.

I am not an electrician and do not know how to use a multimeter.

Any advice?

Thanks....Karl

Old 07-29-2018, 05:39 PM

OK....some new data:

I thought my engine was running hot and the shop said the engine temp is running normal, that my Engine Temperature Gauge was showing abnormally high. I had them replace the engine temp sensor anyway.

So I am out with my son on a drive and the Speedo is not working and the engine temp gauge is reading abnormally high....just under the "H"....and all of a sudden the engine temp gauge begins reading normal (in the "N" range) and the speedo begins working steadliy.

It appears my Speedo issue is connected to my Engine Temperature Gauge reading normal/abnormal....does this make any sense?

Please provide your thoughts...

Thank you....Karl

Old 07-29-2018, 07:03 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,846 Likes on 2,663 Posts

Hi Karl

This is no more than 'A Short In The Dark' but it could have been a bad earth, that may have sorted itself out, just by some movement while driving around

Since everything seems to be working ok, then I would let well alone, though if you get any more problems, then to the Left and the Right of the Closing Panel that sits on Top of the Rad

You will see a bunch of wires on either side and all these wires have round Terminals on the ends and are bolted to the Closing Panel by a Single Bolt (on each side of the closing panel)