XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

XJS slow to start

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2021, 10:54 AM
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default XJS slow to start

Hello.i need YOUR HELP. I have an issue with my xjs. she is slow to start.Seems cylinders are catching up one after the other. Then all is correct for a few minutes, then it start to run unevenly. revving between 500 and 1500 rpm.for some minutes,Not always the same.Sometimes it resume to normal idling other times not. BUT if i put it in gear all is correct and i can drive as much a i want to. Did that 3 - 4 years ago then stopped doing it by itself but just resume doing it now. i am a Mechanic and owned 3 jags before.But now i'am puzzled.. Thanks for tour help. Yvon

Old 07-10-2021, 05:34 PM
GGG
Received 16,862 Likes on 12,186 Posts

Yvon,

As you have already posted a separate Intro thread, I've moved your question from New Member Area - Intro a MUST to XJS forum. Members here with the same model will be able to help.

Graham

Old 07-10-2021, 07:42 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,183 Likes on 2,101 Posts

If the revs are bouncing between 500 and 1500 rpm, then it is likely the AAV is stuck and it is allowing too much air in at idle. when it reaches 1500 the ECU will cut the fuel until the revs fall, then it bring back the fuel and since the AAV is allowing too much air it revs back to 1500 and the cycle repeats. The AAV is on the left side water rail, near the back. Find the hose that comes out the rear of the left air filter housing and follow it back.

Try screwing in the adjuster bolt on the side to cut back the amount of air, and if that doesn't work then generally replacement is the only answer.

The following users liked this post:
azbrye (07-15-2021)
Old 07-10-2021, 10:13 PM
Received 10,517 Likes on 6,947 Posts

Yvon,

As I mentioned in that other request attached to my Sticky on July 8, we really need to know if its a Marelli, or Lucas system.
The diagnostics and sorting are quite different.