XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

3D Printed J-Gate Chrome Surround

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2017, 06:14 PM
Veteran Member
Received 6,320 Likes on 3,465 Posts
Default 3D Printed J-Gate Chrome Surround

Many 4.2L J-gate shifter surrounds have sharp, peeling chrome caused by normal movement of the shift lever. Unfortunately, I couldn't find a separate replacement part just for that chrome J trim, and the only OEM replacement part is the entire surround, which is very expensive - and will fail again because the design using chrome plating is not durable. That J trim should have been stainless steel.

I'm not an engineer, but it seems to me that a 1-piece custom overlay that replicates the original shape and simply fits over the damaged J chrome could be an affordable and easy DIY fix. It could be affixed with 3M automotive tape, if necessary.

Does anyone on the Forum have, or know someone who has, the ability to create a prototype overlay using 3D printing? If it works, the next step would be to find a fabricator who could produce them in stainless steel or other durable material at a reasonable cost. Is there a Forum Sponsor who can help?

I'd like this thread to (1) find a source and (2) determine owner interest. So, if you can help identify a 3D printer and/or fabricator or have peeling trim, speak up.

Old 11-06-2017, 06:36 PM
Received 4,458 Likes on 2,427 Posts

Mine is peeling, and I will be fixing it one way or another in the future.

Old 11-06-2017, 09:10 PM
Veteran Member
Received 970 Likes on 654 Posts

From a machinists perspective, that's a very difficult part to fabricate. I think you'd have better results die stamping aluminum and adhering it to the base plastic but dies are very expensive to make plus aluminum is fickle. Doing SS is a whole 'nother batch of troubles.

Then there's the whole deal with the black pealing on some shifters I've seen. How do you correct that?

Old 11-06-2017, 09:15 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,380 Likes on 1,490 Posts