XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Dimming Headlight/Foglight Indicators

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 09:12 AM
Received 57 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Dimming Headlight/Foglight Indicators

Hi Folks,

New first time Jag owner, 2007 XK Coupe that I've owned for a week. What a car!

Any insight as to if it's possible to dim the headlight/foglight indicators on the tach? They don't seem to respond to dimming as the rest of the the instruments do when using the knob.

Also, this morning I noticed the buzzing coming from the underside of the dash by the steering column that was discussed in a previous thread. Haven't noticed it before and as a newbie, I sure have spent a fair amount of time just sitting in the car. Any updates/thoughts on a possible cause?

I appreciate the knowledge and sharing that I've seen on this forum and am happy to be part of the community.

Best regards,

Old 02-13-2012, 10:29 AM
Veteran Member
Received 875 Likes on 633 Posts

I'm listening in on this one as well... The indicators are glaringly bright while driving....grrrrrrr
Was wondeeing about pulling the cluster and seeing what could be done to dim them a little, but ran across a few threads hinting that the removing it might engage the anti theft system?

Vince

Old 02-13-2012, 11:38 PM
Received 35 Likes on 33 Posts

The noise from under the dash is some sort of cooling fan form the nav screen and all that stuff.

As for the high beam and foglight indicators, they are nice and bright just like all the regulators want them. I would be reluctant to screw with them given the integrated nature of the dash. I suppose it all comes down to how brave you are.