XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Falling headliner

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2019, 07:56 AM
Received 56 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Falling headliner

It was falling pretty bad so I decided to pull it down. I've never done anything like this before so I was a bit intimidated.

Getting the trim on the sides was a pain. I found it easiest to pop them all out and leave them in place. Then get the middle piece on both sides out. Took off the sun visors and light cluster fairly easy with the right tools.

Cleaned the old felt best as I could. Then I tossed it in the wash on delicate, tap cold, with a teaspoon of soap. The foam board was another story. I scraped that thing as best as I could. The stuff got everywhere, so do it somewhere easy to clean. I found a plastic ruler worked great because it's flexible and long, until I found a car brush. I got the bulk off with the ruler, then the brush got pretty much everything else. I was left with a tacky surface, which is actually ideal.

After letting the newly washed headliner bask in the sun on my patio table for an hour or two it was completely dry. I flipped it a few times. I wanted to lay it flat to avoid potential stretching. I dont' know anything about fabric.