XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Got my first scratch

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2020, 07:14 PM
Veteran Member
Received 521 Likes on 374 Posts
Default Got my first scratch

I went to Jag for my annual Oil Change. I’m over the top OCD about my car and they know it. As much as I told them to be careful, as well as walking the Service Writer around the car showing it’s perfection, they managed to scratch the passenger fender along the top, chipping the clear off the paint. This happened while washing the car with brooms. It’s very small, 1/2 inch, but I can see it. I’m wondering if it could be repaired without blending into the side of the fender. Of course they didn’t charge for oil change and will pay for repair. I’m planning on taking it to my shop tomorrow. They’ve repaired my cars for over 20 years and the owner knows me well. I’d post pics but I’m not tech savvy.

Old 09-03-2020, 11:34 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,975 Likes on 1,326 Posts

Originally Posted by bocatrip
This happened while washing the car with brooms.
Ok, had to google that one. Never heard of washing a car with a broom. Now that I’ve seen it, got to say I’d not let one near my car.
If I ever take mine to a dealer, I’ll specify that they not wash the car.
Sorry man, that sucks.

The following users liked this post:
peterv8 (09-04-2020)
Old 09-03-2020, 11:42 PM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by kj07xk
Ok, had to google that one. Never heard of washing a car with a broom. Now that I’ve seen it, got to say I’d not let one near my car.
Sorry man, that sucks.
I agree. However they don’t have a facility for an automatic car wash which couldn’t be used with an XK either. For 6 years they washed it without an incident. I guess my good luck wasn’t going to last indefinitely. FYI. The brushes they use are soft but the handles are made of wood and are not!

Old 09-03-2020, 11:58 PM
Veteran Member
Received 668 Likes on 451 Posts