XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Hello new rear pads and rotors!

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2020, 05:16 PM
Received 272 Likes on 116 Posts
Talking Hello new rear pads and rotors!

Courtesy of the State of Pennsylvania annual inspection, my rears failed the minimum 3mm required and $872 late I'll have new rear pads and rotors. Had near 5mm on the fronts so they can wait until Spring. The car was to go into storage after the visit. Oh well, it's supposed to be 76° tomorrow when I pick it up.

Old 11-10-2020, 04:18 AM
Received 290 Likes on 196 Posts

At least you have one worry less

Pad and rotor/disc change is actually pretty easy. Do it yourself and that bill would probably be less than $200.

Old 11-10-2020, 06:21 AM
Received 272 Likes on 116 Posts

Originally Posted by neilr
At least you have one worry less

Do it yourself and that bill would probably be less than $200.
Agreed about one less worry. I'm a woodworker, and a handyman around the house, and can even muddle through some automotive maintenance items... but when it comes to major systems (I do rank brakes at or near the top of that list), humanity is best served by having professionals do it. I'd probably finish the job, take it off the ramps, then look down and wonder why there are parts on the floor.

The following 4 users liked this post by Scott in PA:
Bill Mack (11-10-2020), MarkyUK (11-10-2020), pk4144 (11-11-2020), ralphwg (11-11-2020)
Old 11-10-2020, 07:16 AM
Received 338 Likes on 205 Posts

Originally Posted by Scott in PA
Agreed about one less worry. I'm a woodworker, and a handyman around the house, and can even muddle through some automotive maintenance items... but when it comes to major systems (I do rank brakes at or near the top of that list), humanity is best served by having professionals do it. I'd probably finish the job, take it off the ramps, then look down and wonder why there are parts on the floor.