XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

I NEVER drive my 2011 XKR in the rain

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2017 | 11:14 AM
|
Default I NEVER drive my 2011 XKR in the rain

Not trying to brag or anything I am actually looking for some help. My XKR is the prototype "garage queen". I only drive it in convertible friendly weather conditions: 50 degrees F or warmer, dry roads, no rain, etc.

It is getting time for a new tire set and I was wondering if I should put on a set of dry weather only shoes?

I have no experience in specialty tires as the XKR is the first garage queen I have ever owned. All my other tire purchases have been all weather.

What are the pros and cons of a dry weather only tire?

Also what would be a tire/brand recommendation by a person with experience?

I drive about 2,500 miles a year. Current odometer on the 2011 XKR is a little over 16,000.

Thanks for the help.

Old 05-09-2017 | 12:01 PM
Banned

CeeJay, paging Ceejay... Ceejay please come to a white courtesy phone you're being paged.

This is pretty much a typical "tire thread" that sadly happens on EVERY single motor vehicle forum. You can easily go to any forum and find the same information you're requesting here, which ALWAYS results in the very same result answers given whether that be on a car, motorcycle, RV, SUV, lawnmowers, wheel barrels, tractors, earth graders, hot wheels, etc.

Pros and cons of high performance summer tires - ummm well, let's see... SHPT's are obviously higher traction when the whether permits and suck when it's not. That sums it up also longevity is less as they are designed to be more "sticky" that's it.