XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

New to Jaguar With Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2013, 01:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Jaguar With Questions

Hope you don't mind but I'm new to Jaguars and some questions. Sold my high HP (1000+) Corvette and looking at a 2008-2010 XKR. Looking at something that the wife and canboth drive, take on a trips and have some fun with as well. When I said I was thinking about a Jaguarsome friends said don’t do it, they are expensive to maintain, temperamental todrive, get lousy gas mileage and the insurance is high. So not been one easily discouraged I thoughtI’d come here and ask the folks who actually own and drive and XKR . So here are a few questions:

1. What hasyour experience with maintenance issues and costs there of?

2. I not sure what they meant by beingtemperamental to drive but how do they drive on open roads, in town and inheavy traffic?

3. What kind of gas mileage are you getting?

4. So is insurance high on them? I’m retired and live in Arizona (Phoenixarea) and insurance costs are important to me. My Corvette (even with the mods) along with my Wife’s car ran just under$900 a year.

5. Things to watch for when shopping for an XKR?

6. Anything else you feel is important to knowwould be appreciated.

Sorry to ask so many questions.

Old 11-07-2013, 05:10 PM
Received 195 Likes on 123 Posts

I bought my 2008 (4.2) XKR a few months ago so I can only answer some of your questions. I haven't had to do much maintenance yet but my car has extended Jaguar warranty so what work has been done has been covered by that. Mileage is pretty poor by todays standards, I get around 26mpg on motorway cruising (around 70mph), high teens around town, 13 or so on a back-road blast.