XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

SDD and Diagnostics Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2020, 02:46 PM
Received 604 Likes on 308 Posts
Default SDD and Diagnostics Questions

Hi, new owner of XK '07 base coupe, 78Kmi. In very good condition, with the usual fluids and minor repairs of a car it's age. Still the best looking car on the road.

Note I've been fixing my own cars for 40 years, and have 5 fully self-maintained BMW's in my history.

So, I'm using SDD V130. Similar to BMW's ISTA, a dealer-level diagnostic, which, like SDD, is widely available in the aftermarket.

SDD's OK as a top-level diagnostic, with reservations noted below. I've reviewed the SDD Manual dated Feb '12.
  • Do later releases of SDD provide more tests for the XK than V130? Any idea where to get a feature breakdown of the various versions? Are later releases worth buying for additional features?
  • I'd like it to run a DTC scan without the fuss of stepping through the symptom block diagram. Unable to find the procedure to just get DTC's. Can anyone point me to it?
  • Is there any way of getting current real-time sensor and signals data? "Measurement applications" gives some data, but I'm unable to gather data. Still working at it. Any tips on getting this sensor data in real time?
  • Still, the list of SDD sensor data in "Measurement applications" is a bit thin (for example, no fluid pressure sensor data in the ZF tranny; no actual pressure readings from the TPMS sensors and many more). BMW repairs had INPA, factory-level software which called out most of the switch and sensor data in the cars. Is IDS worth chasing down for specific sensor data? Or is there another better tool that will give me highly individualized XK sensor data? Some OBD analyzer that is robust in capturing detailed data?
Thanks very much for your insights and pointing me in the right direction.

Best,

Panther

Last edited by panthera999; 11-22-2020 at 03:23 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by panthera999: