XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Sharing a cold air intake experience...

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 12:12 AM
Received 124 Likes on 79 Posts
Default Sharing a cold air intake experience...

I was recently asked to install a Mina supercharger pulley and cold air intake set=up on a 2008 XKR. The pully went on just fine. Ther cold air kit had no instruction, other than a piece of masking tape with "pass" on one mount bracket. Ok. I've been doing this stuff for 37 years. Should be a no-brainer; and it was. The factory system is full of bends and noise baffles, but does pick up air high in the frontal area behind the grille. It has a very long tract. With the Mina kit, I was a bit concerned at the possibility of the low-mounted filters getting soaked in any kind of rain or when driving in an area that may have running water. Yes, people in Arizona do that kind of thing! Anyway, once installed, the engine started very roughly, balked on accel, and set a check engine light almost immediately. Misfires. After clearing the codes, I rechecked everything, and found it all looked good. So, thinking I may have inadvertantly reverse installed the MAF sensors, I turned the tubes around. Even worse. Confirming that I was correct in the first place, I turned them around once again and rechecked the mounting of all parts and clamps. The engine still ran poorly; surging at idle and acting lean on acceleration. It was awful. I put in a call to Mina, and they replied very quickly. The tech suggested rechecking for air leaks, etc. And he also suggested that I may have disturbed something underhood when performing the pulley swap. So, I checked it over once again. All good. I then removed the cold air set up, and re-installed the factory air boxes, and the car ran perfectly. I boxed the stuff up, and put it in the owners car. I'm not bashing Mina here, but has anyone else had this issue? I truly don't believe I missed anything.

Old 06-04-2013, 07:18 AM