XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Thoughts On Removing the Spoiler...

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2012, 06:49 PM
Received 57 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Thoughts On Removing the Spoiler...

I'm an everyday driver and not into track and/or performance. Imho, the spoiler is only there to support the third stoplight.

I've tried to visualize what the rear deck lines would look like without it and I think it would be an improvement as I feel the spoiler breaks up the visual flow.
I'm seriously considering having it removed and moving the third stoplight to the top or bottom of the rear window.

I certainly would appreciate any thoughts before I start redesigning (sorry Ian) the car and possibly making a mess of it. Buckhead Performance would do the work for me. I'm an everyday driver, not an everyday DIY'er.

Thanks and regards to all,

Old 04-17-2012, 07:20 PM
Veteran Member
Received 875 Likes on 633 Posts

Interesting thought.
You have a few areas of concern to figure out, like paint (will you notice fade once the area under the spoiler is exposed) and what about the hole (drilled in lid for 3rd light power)?

Your MPG should go up, and cabin noise should go down as a side effect.

Vince

Old 04-17-2012, 08:33 PM

CleverName,

I believe there are actually three holes. I was told the spoiler is bolted on each end with double sided tape in between and one for the 3rd light wiring. Yep, that would entail filling the holes and painting the entire section. If I go that route, will probably also black out the rear blade, trunk lid key thingy and the XK.

Might be worth the expense if I could get better mileage. Mine is awful. Tops, 22 hwy and 17/18 local, calculator method. The onboard computer reads considerably higher. Methinks it needs a reboot.

Old 04-18-2012, 08:04 AM
Received 42 Likes on 21 Posts