XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Using ethanol fuel

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2014, 03:29 PM
Received 25 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Using ethanol fuel

Anybody having fuel system issues with using ethanol fuel?

Old 03-08-2014, 01:13 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,126 Likes on 797 Posts

Sorry, Fastlane, I can't recall what model you have (hint: put it in a sig) - if you have a 5.0, the manual says no more than 10% ethanol. There is a specific warning about high-ethanol fuel:

Do not use E85 fuels (85% Ethanol content). Equipment necessary for the use of fuels containing more than 10% Ethanol is not fitted to this vehicle. If E85 fuels are used, serious engine and fuel system damage will occur.
The only other comment is that ethanol blends may have lower octane levels than normal unleaded, so there may be some loss of performance.

Old 03-08-2014, 09:17 AM
Received 2,263 Likes on 1,845 Posts

I've been using E10 in all my vehicles for 20+ years. Never a problem.

Beware the mythsayers and misconceptions.

Old 03-08-2014, 10:32 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,184 Likes on 1,624 Posts

^^^

that is one personally observed datapoint and not the world as a whole.

of course those on JF who have had fuel pumps die and those who have owned vehicles recalled for fuel rails pinholed by ethanol would say that there is a certain amount of wilful blindness going on.

Old 03-08-2014, 10:49 AM
Received 25 Likes on 16 Posts

08 XK. Those of us in the boating community are seeing issues. I guess I'm wondering about Material of construction and the effects ethanol has on them.

Old 03-08-2014, 10:52 AM

Originally Posted by Fastlane'scat
08 XK. Those of us in the boating community are seeing issues. I guess I'm wondering about Material of construction and the effects ethanol has on them.
Boats have problems for very specific reasons, none of which are applicable to modern cars.

The following users liked this post:
v8cat (03-24-2015)
Old 03-10-2014, 06:14 AM