XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

XK problems--help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2022, 09:43 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default XK problems--help!

I am new to Jaguar Forms, but here goes: I have a 2011 XK convertible with approximately 40,000 miles. It is a beautiful, fast car but I have three problems:

(1) The ATMS flashes on intermittently, sometimes staying on for 30 minutes even though the tires are fully inflated. I am considering getting four new tire monitors because the car is 10+ years old, but want to make sure I get monitors with the right frequency. (The Carfax report I have says the car was manufactured in the UK on July 1, 2010. I understand that Jaguar changed ATMS frequencies about this time.) Do I have to get a dealer to do the replacement ($1,000+)?. My local mechanic says he can do it for $600.

(2) I have relatively new dealer-provided Pirelli tires front and rear, but have noticed a thumping road noise from the rear of the car that increases in frequency as RPMs increase. I replaced a wheel and tire tire which I thought were causing the noise but that did no good. Is it possible there is a problem with the rear suspension?. Any other ideas?

(3) The glass window on my convertible top has separated from the top itself. I understand that I will need a new top. Is there a preferred vendor for Jaguar XK tops? What about installers? I live in Washington, D.C.

Thanks, guys, for any advice you may have.

Old 07-23-2022, 11:21 PM
Veteran Member
Received 6,390 Likes on 3,501 Posts

ATMS???? You mean TPMS (Tire Pressure Monitoring System). TPMS batteries usually begin to die after 7 years. If your 2011 XK still has the original sensors, those batteries are probably weak and are causing those errors.