XK120 XK140 XK150 1948 - 1962

Starting xk140 restoration-"lite".

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2024, 06:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting xk140 restoration-"lite".

Hello everyone. I thought I would start a thread to go through my mini restoration of a 1955 XK140 DHC MC as it happens. I am hoping to tap the wisdom of this forum as I progress. I just purchased the car and am new to Jaguars. I have extensive restoration experience doing VW Bugs and MG's, but always dreamed of a classic Jaguar. I spent over a year looking for a XK or E-Type that was an older restoration that needed a refresh without a body-off approach right now. I plan on occasionally driving the car to shows and events while continuing to improve it. I do not plan on a concours car when I finish. I am used to restoring cars where I have a lot of room (think barn), but now only have a 2 stall garage. Perhaps when I retire and move out of CA, I could perform a body off, if I still own the car. While looking, I realized I did not fit (6'3") in a XK120 or E-Type series 1. I barely fit in my current 1960 MGA and have to drive scrunched down with my shoes off to manage the pedals. After a few rust buckets I came across a XK140 on Craigslist. It was being sold through a classic car dealer for an owner who imported the car to the US previously, but returned to the UK. With my guard up, I went to go look at the vehicle in an unmarked classic car storage facility in the central valley of California. It wasn't true love at first sight.....It's painted Jaguar Primrose Yellow and had medium sized white walls with chromed wire wheels. The interior is beige/tan/biscut - not quite sure. The car has been off the road since 2017. We negotiated a fair price after multiple visits and driving it and the car is now mine. Here are some findings on the car;