XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

1997 Jaguar XK8 - car shaking

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2020, 09:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 Jaguar XK8 - car shaking

Hey all - 1997 Jaguar XK8 4.0L V8 owner here with 100,000k miles. I am new to this “being a mechanic as a hobby”.

I have check engine lights blinking constantly and the car shakes when idle and also when moving 1-5 mph (but runs smooth and nicely once I start picking up speed and higher rpms, so weird..). I had an error reading “Cylinder 1 misfire detected”. Because of that, I changed 8 spark plugs and 8 coil packs off the bat (watched DIY YouTube videos and read...a lot to do this myself). The car runs slightly better but still shakes when idle/low speed. Also, I get the “engine fail” and “poor performance” light, but it literally comes on and goes off randomly, so strange.

Question: What do you think this shaking only idle/low speeds? Why do the poor performance and check engine/fail signals go on and off randomly?

Old 08-09-2020, 11:16 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,419 Likes on 755 Posts
Default Lots to think about

Keith,

Welcome to the wonderful world of home auto DIY. Your car will appreciate all your efforts, and you’ll quickly build up a decent tool set and working knowledge that might surprise you.

Firstly, your car runs fine at speed but idles badly. You get intermittent CEL and warnings but do these seem to go away at speed? Let us know what DTC Pxxxx you see as sometimes the Jag specific codes are different.

One thing about this car, a misfire will cause a flashing CEL on the dash. Only if it’s a consistent misfire, will the CEL stay on.

You’ve done the coils and plugs so let’s look elsewhere.

Mostly think 3 things - air, fuel spark.

Air - is air filter clean? MAF sensor clean? Throttle body butterfly clean? Cylinder 1 is furthest from the throttle body- where the air comes into the manifold.