XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

1998 XK8 No Heat?

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2021, 04:14 AM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1998 XK8 No Heat?

I can get my heater to blow air, but it's only cold air? I am fairly new to these cars, where do I start to figure out why my heater won't kick out hot air, instead of just cold air (heat)? 1998 XK8 Convertible.

Old 10-26-2021, 08:55 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,508 Likes on 1,058 Posts

The heat from the engine coolant comes to the heater core through a semi complicated arrangement involving a computer controller water valve, an auxiliary pump and a dedicated coolant bypass loop. The pump is a DC motor that is running at all times the system is on. The most common problem is that the DC motor graphite brushes wear out and the motor stops, and no heat comes to the core.

Best is to go to jagrepair.com and check the electrical diagram. There is readily accessible fuse for this pump. When brushes are worn out, there is an open circuit ("infinite" resistance to the ground). If the motor is the problem, the bad news is that it is a challenge to reach/replace, but the good news is that the motor can be repaired (it is expen$ive from Jaguar) at the cost of new brushes and basic soldering.

There are other scenarios as well. The water valve can also be a problem but it is rare. FWIW, it defaults open, so simply disconnecting it can help diagnostics.

FWIW, I had good outcome out of a simple heater core cleanup. This is a normal conventional cleanup involving disconnecting the heater core hoses off the firewall by the brake booster and piping in clear tubing hooked to a garden hose. And yes, try and use radiator cleaner for the prescribed 10 min "while you are there".

Best of luck, keep us posted.

Old 10-26-2021, 09:02 AM
Received 89 Likes on 69 Posts

Does the light for Traction control work, or the front fog tell tale or heated seats lights come on?