XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

1999 XK8 water pump, thermostat, drivebelt

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2008, 08:22 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 XK8 water pump, thermostat, drivebelt

hi to all,

i'm looking at changing the water pump. there seemsto be a whining noise when the car is idleing. i'm putting this down to the water pump. i'm no expert but i can do most work myself. since this is the first time i'll be doing this work on an XK8, i would be grateful for any tips or suggestions. also, should i change the thermostat, drivebelt and idler/tensioner pulley (if they are fitted!) while i'm doing the water pump? also, if anyone knows of any links (with photo's) to doing this job then please let me know.

many thanks

tariq

***still with the elite, cos i got an XK8***

Old 11-06-2008, 12:05 PM
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: 1999 XK8 water pump, thermostat, drivebelt

If memory serves me, Jaguar Monthly magazine had an article on the chain tensioners and waterpump not to long ago (1 to 6 months maybe?). It had pictures by the step. Also try jag-lovers.org, there may be something on there. BTW, in case you didn't know, there earlier waterpumps had some problems and they upgraded them in '02 or 3 I think. Make sure you install the later version.

Good luck!

Old 11-07-2008, 05:17 PM
Veteran Member
Received 257 Likes on 200 Posts

Yes, if you are going to the water pump, be sure you get the updated one with metal impellers. Change the plastic thermostat housing to the metal one also. Replace the timing chain tensioners, especially the upper ones with the updated metal ones.

Old 11-11-2008, 11:54 AM

thanks to govatos and hlgeorge for their replies.