XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Emissions Diagnostics for fun and education...

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2020, 04:38 PM
Received 53 Likes on 34 Posts
Default Emissions Diagnostics for fun and education...

I just bought an XK8 that failed its MOT on, amongst other things, it's emissions. The (trusted) garage doing the testing told the seller they thought it needed two new cats. I agreed to buy it as a project as I'm an enthusiastic amateur mechanic/diagnostician and like a challenge . Having now had a chance to look through the emissions results a few days before it arrives I disagree with the garage.
  • I do not have the car yet so I have no codes and no fuel trims ONLY the emissions results.
  • The seller (trusted) says the car runs smoothly
Image of emissions:

I'll post my theory shortly but what would you say and why?

Last edited by Wight8; 07-12-2020 at 05:43 PM.
Old 07-12-2020, 10:58 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,418 Likes on 755 Posts
Default Nice example of deductive reasoning

Wight,

Nice to see you sharing this little preemptive problem. I can see why you posted your previous question regarding the cross over silencer/muffler.

Firstly the car is running rich/overfuelling. There’s the usual probable culprits ie MAF, injectors etc. But....

Next question is why one side of the exhaust is so much different from the other. Hence your cross over question! hmmmm.....

Firstly, have any exhaust mods been done ie fitting straight through pipes is common to increase car noise? Next the O2 sensors are on the CATs before the central balancing muffler so one bank is probably telling the car that side is lean so hence the over fuelling.

Once you have the car, the DTCs and fuel trims will isolate the problem. As you say, it may not be bad CATs.

The following users liked this post:
Wight8 (07-13-2020)
Old 07-13-2020, 04:34 PM