XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Fuse 3 and Alarm

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2016, 06:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuse 3 and Alarm

Happy Saturday (or not...)

I am a spoilt amateur mechanic, having dripped blood from my knuckles on many a Haynes manual, so I am struggling with not having a Haynes for my "new" XKR (2000) RHD.

I have plundered t'internet and got a fair bit of info., but now I could do with a bit of help (please). If I tell a short story it will list my observations in order:
  • a month ago the alarm went off in the works car park, then the sounder failed permanently, so it no longer sounds when I lock the doors
  • a few weeks ago I was clipped by a lorry on the front left, minor damage, no inertia activation, no airbag activation, didn't even break the headlamp or foglamp
  • isurance repairers fixed my car
  • immediately before the accident the heater was generating loads of heat
  • immediately after the accident (car was drivable) the heater was cold
  • I told the body shop about the heater and they thought they fixed it, but I suspect that they noted the low heat available above 40mph without the pump
  • after I got the car back I noticed that the Foglamps, Heated Seats and Traction Control also do not work
  • I have found Fuse 3 blown, but when replaced it blows when the ignition is turned on.
So I think I am pretty much there, my questions:
  1. I think that the alarm sounder unit was failing and the bump caused something to short, possibly internal (I have seen the photo's of the state the NiCads get into), does that sound right? Or is it likely to be coincidence (I know - anything can be coincidence)?
  2. Which side is the alarm sounder unit on a RHD car?
  3. Does anybody have any diagrams or photo's of how it actually looks?
  4. What is the best way to disconnect the alarm sounder unit?
Bonus question: