XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Which High Brake Light Part Number?

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2018, 01:22 PM
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Which High Brake Light Part Number?

I am a very confused newbie...

New to me 1997 XK8 COUPE. Failed inspection for the third brake light not working. Though I was able to repair it electrically (replaced the LED light strip) I cannot get the unit to reinstall properly due to plastic parts having been toasted in the heat under the rear window. Both of the 'wings' that are supposed to hold it in place are gone. I have glued the light back (sort of in it's right place) but cannot get the cover to attach resulting in the red glow of the LEDs reflecting into the interior (not ideal) and either living with a rattle (cover loosely in place) or wires exposed.

Shopping on the internet has left me wondering what the right part number is for the latest and potentially revised part number. I believe the color of the cover is Ostrich but my cover is still in good shape so color is less important than getting the right part. My local dealer after calling, visiting, and providing the VIN, was too put out to actually look it up and just gave me, "around $310 for the part." No part number. I have been looking at LJB5000ABAGE but there are numerous variations on this.

Can anyone clarify which of the iterations of this light is the right one? (and where the best source for it might be?)
Thank you.

Old 06-17-2018, 02:50 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,319 Likes on 1,004 Posts

Below is a link to the SNG Barratt website for the upper brake light. They are the same from 1997 to 1999 according to the parts book.

https://www.sngbarratt.com/us/#!/Eng...%20STOP%20LAMP

Attached Thumbnails Which High Brake Light Part Number?-high-mounted-brake-light.jpg  
The following users liked this post:
Grybrd (06-19-2018)
Old 06-17-2018, 03:06 PM

Thanks for the quick reply.