XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Mega-chirp, slam shift

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2015 | 08:57 AM
|
Default Mega-chirp, slam shift

Hi y’all. New guy, first post – if it’s too wordy, please tell me. Black ’04 XK8, 80 kmiles, had it a month and a half or so. I heard the “transmission chirp” occasionally (more of a honk, like a goose, or maybe a bark), mostly during kick-down shifts, sometimes during upshifts at moderate throttle. Short duration, nothing particularly worrisome. But then a couple of times after kick-down and running hard up 90 mph or so then letting off, a loud, pronounced hooonnnk noise for about a second followed by a very hard shift into the next gear (4th, I think). Changed the trans pan and fluid, filled per the procedure and it acted fine for a couple of weeks, no noise, no slam shifts, good behavior even after kick-downs and hard acceleration. But now this week two or three more episodes of noise and/or very hard shift after kick-down. I’m not good at sifting through forums so forgive me if I’ve missed something obvious, but I haven’t seen any explanation of what actually causes the noise (I feel sure my “honk” noise is just an extension/exaggeration of the “chirp”). I’m pretty much convinced that it’s slipping clutches, and I can see how refreshing the fluid/putting in an additive could help in the case of a “chirp”. But I’m becoming very suspicious that the prolonged honk followed by a slam shift is caused by a clutch or brake hanging (the operational description describes three clutches and two brakes that are sequenced by the solenoids and valves). Adding to the suspicion is that “overlapping shifts” are part of normal operation: “Overlapping shifts can be described as one of the clutches continuing to transmit drive at a lower main pressure until the next required clutch is able to accept the input torque”. The symptoms imply to me that pressures sometimes aren’t correct and that clutches/brakes are fighting each other. That’s what it f