XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Spun a Rod Bearing

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2015, 11:15 AM
Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Spun a Rod Bearing

Hi Guys,
Just purchased a two owner 01 XK8 with maintenance records and clean Carfax.
To make a long story short, I put about 600 miles on it and started hearing a ticking noise slowly getting louder.
I was out of town with it so had it towed to the nearest dealer who says "Catastrophic Engine Failure" and hands me a estimate for about $20,000.
Not gonna happen!
So I'm fairly handy with a wrench and have decided that with the help of some of my gear head friends, this is my new winter project.
I'm new to Jaguars so if any of you could point me in the right direction for manuals, specific tools and reputable parts sources I'd appreciate it.
And if anyone knowledgeable close to Madison WI would like to stop by, Pints and Pizza is on me.
Thanks, Terry

Old 12-27-2015, 11:24 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,111 Likes on 932 Posts

Well, I usually say, 'Welcome to the wonderful world of Jaguar' but doesn't sound like that is appropriate here.

Welcome to the forum anyway. The JTIS is available for down load at the top of this forum. That will be a start.

Do you think it is a total engine failure? There are a couple 'ticking' issues far short of a spun rod bearing such as failed cam chain tensioners and guides. Is the noise from the front or top of the engine or the bottom?

Last edited by test point; 12-27-2015 at 11:29 AM.
Old 12-27-2015, 11:52 AM

Thanks for the welcome!
Yea I went from my never let me down Miata to this Sexy but unpredictable XK8.
I've owned some MG's and Triumphs in the past so it's not completely unexpected but so soon after purchase. Oh well.

The dealer said rod bearing, and I had a friend who owns a automotive machine shop have a listen and we're pretty sure it's more than valve gear. It's a loud knock.

Old 12-27-2015, 12:06 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,803 Likes on 2,237 Posts