XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Streamlining the X100???

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2020, 05:04 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,296 Likes on 897 Posts
Default Streamlining the X100???

Now I have two XKs of the x100 type. One 8 and one R. I love them both and still have quite a bit of work to do, especially on the R.... Of course I am still learning.

Both convertibles, I plan on holding on to mine for a long long time... But really, that will seriously depend on some things.

As I am thinking about what it will mean at 25yrs, and a MUCH simpler set of inspection requirements here in the good ol USA, I am really wondering if it is possible to do away with ALL of those things that trigger a CEL, Restricted Performance, Fail-Safe Mode, and the hundred faults we all know so well. The things that STOP an often VERY drivable car, from being drivable.

I dream of a slimmed down XK 8 or R. A machine that kinda just breaths and runs with fuel without all the systems that raise ALARMS - if ya know what I mean...?

Is there a way to have one of these cars that run the way they can and do, without all of those fail safe systems that get in the way? Can they be ripped out,,, down to the bare essentials? Streamlined, so to speak???

If not, what does the future hold for the XK x100 where a bum solder joint can shut the whole car down?

Last edited by JayJagJay; 12-09-2020 at 05:15 PM.
Old 12-09-2020, 07:15 PM
Received 161 Likes on 91 Posts

Well, as a Norwegian reading this from an American, my first thought is "here we go again". Yet another car that will be destroyed by a standard US engine swap; Chevy 350 with an old carb!
First of all I dont agree with you that this Jags has hundreds of fault we all know so well.
Its just that after 25 years everything needs maintenance, also the electrics.
The world goes on and it is 50 years since a car was just mechanic.