XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

The things people say about our cars...

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2012, 04:07 PM
Veteran Member
Received 182 Likes on 148 Posts
Default The things people say about our cars...

I've been working nights for the last month starting up a nuclear plant after a major power uprate. I stopped on the way home for breakfast (dinner?) at a diner. Some guys came in shortly after me and sat down at the table next to me. You could see my XKR through the window and they started talking about it, wondering what kind of car it was. One guy said it was a Chrysler (I was a little insulted by that remark), one of the others said it was a Jaguar, and the third said he thought it was an Alpha Romeo (at least that was better than the first guy). I turned around and told them it was a Jaguar XKR. They saw my security badge from the plant and asked me if I worked at the nuclear plant. I said I was a consulting engineer helping them startup. Then they wanted to know if the plant was hiring because they'd like to be able to afford a car like mine. I didn't bother to explain, it would have been a waste of time and breath.

Mark

Last edited by mjlaris; 06-27-2012 at 02:50 PM. Reason: fixed typo
Old 06-24-2012, 06:58 PM
Veteran Member
Received 539 Likes on 402 Posts

Folks that are even casual "car people" know that these cars are something special even if they cannot readily identify them. Then there are folks that are oblivious to cars and only regard them as something to get you from A to B. I can imagine someone like that not knowing what kind of car it is but they should still recognize that it is something classy.

Doug

Old 06-24-2012, 10:33 PM
Received 34 Likes on 19 Posts