XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Throttle body or something else?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2023, 11:35 AM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Throttle body or something else?

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting.

I'll give you all of the story as some parts may or may not be relevant.

Yesterday I bought a 2001 XKR convertible, black paint, black interior and 20" BBS alloys, 86k full service history. The story of the car is it was bought by a car dealer/ collector in 2016 he put it in a shipping container and left it there until around 18 months ago. The car dealer is retiring and thinning out his cars so put it up for sale. I know car dealers like to spin a tale or two but everything that the guy said checked out.

The car is in very good condition given its history, no rust other than the typical surface rust on the underneath areas. After looking around the car the main negatives were some small amount of mould in the headliner smells a bit like a scout camp tent, the 20" tyres were practically new Avons but had perished over time and the big one... it would cut out when the throttle pedal was used but only when in motion. Along with various warning messages on the dash but hoped that a bad battery would rectify everything. Regardless to the issues it had and because my life is full of questionable decisions, I bought it. What makes this even more of a silly idea is it will be my daily driver / family car as I have a wife, two kids (7 & 6) and a dog. The dealer stated that it had no issues other than cruise control not working when he bought it.

A few days later it was delivered to my house on the same date the car was made 22 years prior and set about trying to get it in order.