XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Valet vs Master key

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2020, 09:40 PM
Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Valet vs Master key

re 2003 XK8

Trying to identify keys that I have. Previous owner had keys replaced so there is some uncertainty

because none of the 3 keys open the lid ( cylinder won’t rotate ) I am trying to determine if I have a master key problem or lock cylinder problem

all the keys appear to be identical with black heads. 2 of the keys have green background on “cat” logo therefore I assumed this was a green key therefore a valet key but maybe I am misunderstanding green key definition.

I read in another post that valet keys have a slightly larger tip than the master key. All 3 of my keys seem identical

Randy

Old 11-03-2020, 02:50 AM
GGG
Received 16,867 Likes on 12,186 Posts

Randy,

I've just seen your email but will reply here as it adds to the group conversation. Also, I think my memory is wrong about which key is machined down but I no longer have a Jaguar model with this type of key to be able to check.

It sounds like you have three MASTER keys. The MASTER has a black head and the VALET has a green head - the full plastic head sections and not just the logo. A VALET key will NOT open either the glovebox or the luggage compartment. This I'm confident is correct.

The photo is the keys from my long gone 2005 XK8. Both black MASTER (bottom) and green VALET (top) keys are the same length. The sections shown in BLUE on the photo are identical. The difference is the sections shown in RED. This is very noticeable if a true MASTER and VALET are examined together. I'm also confident this is correct.