XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

xk 8 engine mounts

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2017, 02:46 AM
Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts
Default xk 8 engine mounts

Hi all

I looked up the previous postings on xk8 engine mounts as mine needed changing (so I was told). Although I am an adequate amateur mechanic the process looked pretty daunting.
Well its all done and wasn't so bad!!
Firstly all the info on the forum is correct as you will need to overcome certain "difficulties".
Although I have access to a hoist I chose to do them from below with the car on stands/ My car is a normally aspirated 2001 VX8 coupe and has travelled 130,000km.
With the car on stands I began on the passenger side as the forum said it was (relatively) easier.
I jacked the engine up from below about 50mm (until I got nervous of the "stretch" being applied to hoses etc.
Problem number 1 - find out who assembles these at the Jag plant and take him off steroids - I have never come across such tight bolts. The bottom (LH and RH) bolts are an easy access with a 13mm socket. The LH top nut is restricted access from below and zero access from above. It is OK if you have a "flat" design socket set,
The RH top is an easy access from the top with a universal driver to allow you to get the angle you need.
Problem number 2 - the steering universal joint is reasonable access but a total pain to get off. Every one says "mark it for replacement" - well I marked it and replacement was so awkward I had to ignore my marks. I had to disconnect the rack from the lower (rack side) end of the joint as there appeared to be too little room to remove it from the "car" side.
Once undone (yes seriously tight bolts) I could complete the removal of the mount and replace it with a new one.
Both mounts showed signs of leakage and one was in two pieces.
Apart from the re-connection of the rack everything else was ok and proceeded without drama. I will now have to reset the steering wheel though.