XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

XK / XKR Difference?

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2013, 11:58 AM
Veteran Member
Received 456 Likes on 299 Posts
Default XK / XKR Difference?

Hi guys the newbie here. Apart from the obvious power difference what would you getting with an XKR that you would not be getting with a XK8?

I was looking for an XK around the 2003 mark.

Thanks

Old 11-08-2013, 01:54 PM
Veteran Member
Received 540 Likes on 403 Posts

You can probably find the answer in the FAQ area but, in brief:

Brakes are bigger, the supercharged engine (of course), the transmission was different in the XKR pre-2003, some differences in exterior styling (louvers in hood, spoiler/trim on the trunk lid, black rubber trim around rear wheel arches, different exhaust pipes), and some minor differences in interior styling (door sills say XKR and also embossed in the center of the steering wheel).

Doug

Old 11-08-2013, 02:55 PM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by SeismicGuy
You can probably find the answer in the FAQ area but, in brief:

Brakes are bigger, the supercharged engine (of course), the transmission was different in the XKR pre-2003, some differences in exterior styling (louvers in hood, spoiler/trim on the trunk lid, black rubber trim around rear wheel arches, different exhaust pipes), and some minor differences in interior styling (door sills say XKR and also embossed in the center of the steering wheel).

Doug
So aside from power and better brakes to handle that power not much difference.

I dont really need that extra power so I cannot see the value in splashing out a few extra K. Hmmmm

I did try clicking FAQ at the top of the page. I search box popped up and I tried typing in xkr then xk8 then various words but each time I got the reply "Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms."

Thanks for the reply.

Old 11-08-2013, 05:13 PM
Veteran Member
Received 540 Likes on 403 Posts