XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

xk8 proglems

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2016, 04:15 PM
Received 32 Likes on 20 Posts
Question xk8 proglems

I am new to Jag and new to this forum and I come seeking advice from those who may know something. This is my first British car, I have a 2016 m3 and a beloved 2004 honda S2000 and I do all the work on that car myself.

i came by this car from a relative and it was a good deal for us both...it will not cooperate with me!!

1999 jag xk8 convertible that has sat allot with a dead battery, 39,000 one owner garaged. It was running when I got it and there were no check engine lights...one came on....so i took it to a local british car expert....

he says a have now a ramdom misfire code (number of code to follow when I get it next week)...and there was a lean code...he replaced the mass airflow meter or sensor, that code went away, then the plugs which were original and need of repair...then the ramdom misfire code came on.....

he has swaped out coil packs, mine are good, he has checked each injector, replaced fuel filter....car runs "perfectly" reset light, drive it 45 min and check engine light says random misfire on all cyls. He has given up....
So car will not pass smog....check engine light is on...it's been driven hundreds of miles....

How to I fix this and how can it pass smog with a check engine light on , on a car which he says is running perfectly...

remember, car has sat for a long time, battery is fine i think as it starts right every time even with the lights on. car passed smog two years ago.
former owner never fixed anything unless the car broke down, so it has had minimal maintenance.....coolant is a mess, oil is black, i will change those things.

redid the interior mirror, car is perfect other than the parking lot dents, nice car. Any help will be appreciated...I live in sf bay area, the penninsula, san mateo/redwood city area.

Thanks

Old 09-16-2016, 04:54 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,162 Likes on 751 Posts